Why This Blog?

Published August 6, 2012 by meee2

I’ve been on a quest for better health for the better part of 10 years now.

I’ve had highs. 277 to be exact.

I’ve had lows. About 198. That was about 7 years ago. 7 years too long ago.

I finally got serious about getting my weight and health under control about 4 months ago.

My best friend did the Tinker Bell Half Marathon  in January. I was there (sort of, but that’s another post) to cheer her on after she finished.

They announced the same half marathon for January of 2013.

This time, my friend told me I had to cross the line with her, instead of just be there for her when she was done.

I said, Fuck, I better get running.

And so I did.

It was slow, long, torturous even, at the beginning.

It’s still kind of slow, but not so torturous. I’ve gone from being able to finish a mile in over 18 minutes, to about 12:40 a mile. Like I said, still slow, but I’m getting there.

My cousin, Jenna, kind of kicked me in the butt to get moving, even more. I told her if she met her goals when she was away and continued to when she got home, I would do it with her.

So I’m going to try.

Her schedule will be much more than mine, for right now. I’m aiming for 2 to 3 hours of activity a day. Once the kiddos go back to school I will have more time for myself and can up my activity to 3 to 4 hours a day.

As of the start of this blog, I’m 224.6 pounds. My goal is to get down to 140.

Hang on, this might be a bumpy ride.

Me after a 5K. Try not to notice the gray hair.

Leave a Reply

