I Can’t Run Like You

Published August 20, 2012 by meee2

I hear this ALL THE TIME! My friend, Carly, says she hears it a lot too.

Here’s the thing.

YOU. CAN. RUN. JUST. LIKE. ME!!

It’s not really that hard. Not the way I do it.

I think I’ve said this before, here, but I am a big fan of interval running. Google “Jeff Galloway” (or just look here or here) and you’ll find out exactly what I mean. He has been running for many, many years and is extremely knowledgeable.

When I started running, I thought my best bet would be the C25K program. I realized in week 3 that running continuously for 3.1 miles or more was NOT what I wanted to do. Carly had told me she did the interval running and I did see a few minutes of Jeff Galloway’s speech when I was at Disneyland for Carly to run her 1st half marathon. Not only did I see pretty much zero improvement with the c25K program, running for 3 minutes was really fucking hard.

I did some research on the Jeff Galloway program and since I wasn’t training for anything in particular, at that point, I started with the training for the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror training program. Keep in mind, if you never want to run that far, you don’t have too! It’s just a place to start. With this program I started my intervals at 10 seconds for running and a minute for walking. Then I actually read the information he gives, and started running for 10 seconds, walking for 50.

Right away I saw my time improving! My minutes per mile were creeping down, from over 18 minutes each. It was the most amazing thing. Even more amazing? It got EASY to run the 10/50 intervals. So I upped it to 15/45. That got easy, up to 20/40. This is about what I’m running now, but it’s on the easy side. I’m in the process of bumping it up to 30/30 but sometimes I can only run for about 25 seconds. It’s a bit harder, but I’m sure it will get easier as I continue. My average time is now down to between 12:30 and 13:30 minutes per mile. Amazing!!

I’m currently training for my first half marathon. I can hardly believe it! If you would have asked me in January if I’d ever be running anything, let alone a half marathon, I would have told you where to stick it. I’m following the Beginner’s program for the Disney’s Wine & Dine Half Marathon. I just ran 6.5 miles.

Feels good, but I can really use a foot massage.

Need some more inspiration? Here are a few of my favorite blogs about running:

Are there any other blogs that inspire you to run? Any that just inspire you to live healthier? Share them with me. There’s always room for one more.

Leave a Reply

